Posted by: seasin | August 9, 2009

Scrumptious pink lemonade

So where's the pink, you're asking? Oh darlings, patience is a virtue :)

So where's the pink, you're asking? Oh darlings, patience is a virtue šŸ™‚

I love hot summer days. I love hot summer days even more, when they happen to be Sundays. When I can be lazy at home, all windows open, to the great dismay of my Geordie boyfriend, who officially starts melting above 25 degrees Celsius (and freezing below 5- I really didn’t get a very good deal with him at all, did I? I have to check the guarantee papers and see with his mum, maybe he’s still covered and I can have him fixed for free šŸ™‚ ).

When it’s Sunday, and I’m staying in rehearsing for becoming a housewife (NOT) or alternatively being a very lazy, lizard-like Transilvanian who enjoys reading and organizing closets and cupboards on hot Sundays, I’m usually treating myself to a big jug of lemonade.

So lemonade, you’ll tell me, what’s the big deal? Well my darlings, the big deal is that (because I’m complicated and manic) I’m making my own weird lemonade, and today I’m ready to share it with you.

This recipe has no quantities, because you can make as much or as little as you want, as fragrant or as bland as you want (although, why would anyone want a bland lemonade, beats me!), as sweet or as tart as you want (I’m one for tart, myself. All of my sweetness comes from inside. And I’m modest, too, you know!).

The cast of characters:

IMGP0789

Lemons (I usually use limes, but yesterday they were bloody EXPENSIVE at Hit Supermarket, and I was in a frugal mood, so I bought dirt-cheap lemons); good Bulgarian honey (this one is just mixed wild flowers honey, but feel free to improvise); fresh ginger (I used two small-ish knobs-maybe a tablespoon worth, when grated); fresh raspberries; fresh mint leaves; natural sparkling water (you can use soda water if you want, I’m just a snob!).

It’s really pretty simple: peel the ginger, wash the raspberries and the mint leaves. In a large bowl, squeeze the lemons, grate the ginger, spoon the honey, then add the fairly finely chopped mint leaves and the raspberries. Give everything a good stir with a spoon, crushing the raspberries with the back of the spoon in the process. Taste-it should be reasonably tart, but also a tad too sweet for your taste-it’s going to be diluted, remember? Then add the sparkling water-I normally use one liter and a half for three lemons and about two large spoons of honey- give it another stir or two, then cover the bowl and let it steep for…should I say about one hour? If you’re impatient like I am, you’ll still have to give it at least half an hour, to get the best of all the gorgeous flavours mingling in the bubbles.

When you feel like you can’t wait anymore, strain the lemonade in a lemonade jug-I have this cheap looking (for a reason, it was really really cheap!) but very clever lemonade jug that I bought in a very normal shop in Bulgaria- it’s plain nasty looking glass, but the plastic lid has a little tube that screws onto it-the clever bit being that you fill up the tube with water, you plop it in the freezer, then once it’s frozen solid, you screw it to the jug’s lid. You put the lid on, after you added your pink lemonade, and voila-your lemonade is perfectly chilled (and stays so for quite a long time) without the melting ice addind undesired water to dilute your pool of goodness.

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. And in the mouth of the lucky drinker :)

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. And in the mouth of the lucky drinker šŸ™‚

Serve with a few whole raspberries and a couple leaves of mint.

And enjoy the heat of summer-nasty winter cold will be upon us in no time at all!

Leave a Reply

Categories

